Training Thursday: Deleting Chat Messages from the Website

We rolled out the first version of chat messaging a few months ago and have been making iterations on it as we get feedback. One request has been to give the ability to delete chat messages. At this moment, an admin or member with edit agency permissions has the ability to delete all messages in the chat from the new website. Here’s how:

  1. Login to www.active911.com under the member access area and at the top of the page you will see this image:

2. Click on the “here” to access the new website. (We are still working on this new website, but it is almost done!)

3. Go to the agency tab and scroll down towards the bottom and you will see this:

4. Under Enable Chat, there is a “Clear all Chat Messages” question with a delete button to the right. Click the delete button if you would like to delete ALL of the chat messages in the app for the entire agency.

5. If you’re in the chat tab on the app itself, you will need to tap another tab and re-enter it to see that all the messages have been deleted.

This is the only option we have for deleting chat messages at this time, but we are currently working on having a delete option within the app itself for all the platforms.

If you have any questions about this or feedback, please give our support team a call at 541-223-7992!

Happy Training Thursday and Stay Safe!

 

Training Thursday – Duty Status Options

You can change your duty status in the settings of the Active911 app under your agency. If you are part of multiple departments, then you can change it for each agency!

We have 3 different duty status options for Apple, Android, and Windows devices. Apple and Android also have one more option and Windows will be getting it in the future.

Duty Status on Apple Device

Let’s take a closer look at those different options:

  • On Duty: If you have this selected, then your device will receive alerts.
  • Off Duty: If you have this selected, then your device will not receive alerts.
  • Off Duty Available (Apple & Android Only): If you have this selected, you will only receive alerts when you are within 5 miles of the location of the alert.
  • Automatic: This should only be selected if you have a shift assigned to your device. If you have have a shift assigned, then your device will automatically put you on and off duty based off of your shift schedule. Note: Only admins or users with edit devices permissions can set a shift for your device.

Happy Training Thursday and Stay Safe!

Training Thursday: Always or Failover Group

It’s Training Thursday so let’s sharpen up on the Always or failover group! This is especially important for those of you that use the pagegroup option with us!

What are those and why do they matter?

When setting up groups based on units, where our system automatically sends to the groups and not to a prefixed email address, it is extremely important to set up an always or failover group. By setting up a group called “Always” or “Failover”, it means that all calls will go to that group, plus the corresponding unit groups.

The importance of this is when your dispatch center does an update on their CAD and starts sending to us in a different format than before, you will start to get General Alerts. If you are seeing General Alerts that means that we aren’t parsing out the units, which means you won’t be getting alerts to groups with unit names. However, if you set up an always or failover group and have one person in them, then you can catch that the parser needs to be fixed and let us know.

If you are using groups, don’t forget to have an always or failover group! Let us know if you have questions at support@active911.com!